Landscape Architecture

Landscape Architecture Faculty and Staff


Chair

Carl Rogers

Chair

BArch, Kansas State University, 1993 MLA, Rhode Island School of Design, 1997

 

Email: rogersc@iastate.edu

Office: 146 Design



Administrative Staff

Linda Galvin

Administrative Specialist

 

Email: lagalvin@iastate.edu

Office: 146 Design



Faculty

Julia Badenhope

Professor

MLA, Harvard Graduate School of Design, 1992

BS in Agriculture, Plant and Soil Science, with Honors, 1987

 

CV

Email: jmb@iastate.edu

Office: 582 Design

Phone: 3007



Keith Billick

Lecturer

 

Email: kbillick@iastate.edu

Office: 492 Design



Mira Engler

Professor

EDUCATION

1977-1982                  

Bachelor of Landscape Architecture, Technion, Israel Institute of Technology, Haifa, Israel, with honors

1987-1989                  

Master of Landscape Architecture, University of California, Berkeley

2006-2013                  

Ph.D Architecture, University of California, Los Angeles, Dissertation: “Gordon Cullen and the ‘Cut-and-paste’ Urban landscape,” Major Professor: Sylvia Lavin

 

CV

Email: miraengl@iastate.edu

Office: 478 Design

Phone: 8937



Heidi Hohmann

Associate Professor

BS, Yale College, 1985 MLA, Harvard Graduate School of Design, 1993

 

CV

Email: hhohmann@iastate.edu

Office: 577 Design

Phone: 8938



Chad Hunter

Lecturer

 

Email: cahunter@iastate.edu

Office: Suite 121 Design

Phone: 515-294-2213



Kevin Kane

Adj. Asst. Prof.

PhD, Higher Education Leadership and Policy Studies, Iowa State University, 2007 MLA, Iowa State University, 1986 BSLA, Iowa State University, 1982 BA, Iowa State University, 1982

 

CV

Email: kkane@iastate.edu

Office: 126A Design

Phone: 0526



Michael Martin

Associate Professor

BLA, University of Georgia, 1982 MLA, University of Oregon, 1995

 

Email: mdmartin@iastate.edu

Office: 579 Design

Phone: 8974



Michael Miller

Adjunct Assistant Professor

B.L.A. Kansas State University, 1992 M.L.A. Iowa State University, 1995

 

CV

Email: mcmiller@iastate.edu

Office: 158B Design

Phone: 8509



Tom Neppl

Senior Lecturer

BS, Agriculture, Kansas State University, 1993 MLA, Kansas State University, 1996 MRCP, Kansas State University, 1997

Licensure/Registration: Landscape Architect, State of Iowa #439

 

CV

Email: tomneppl@iastate.edu

Office: 492 Design



Carl Rogers

Associate Professor

BArch, Kansas State University, 1993 MLA, Rhode Island School of Design, 1997

 

Email: rogersc@iastate.edu

Office: 146 Design

Phone: 5334



Scot Schuckert

Lecturer

 

Email: scots@iastate.edu

Office: 380 Design



Lauren Schunk

Lecturer

 

Email: laschunk@iastate.edu

Office: 380 Design



Chris Seeger

Professor

BLA, North Dakota State University, 1995 BS, Environmental Design, North Dakota State University, 1995 MLA, Iowa State University, 1997

Certificates and Registrations: Certified Geographic Information Systems Professional (GISP) 2008 Registered Landscape Architect (2004  Iowa #444)

 

 

Email: cjseeger@iastate.edu

Office: 280 Design

Phone: 515-509-0651



Benjamin Shirtcliff

Assistant Professor

PhD, Urban Studies, University of New Orleans, 2012 MLA, Pennsylvania State University, 2004 BLA, Pennsylvania State University, 2004 BA, Philosophy, University of Oregon, 1999

 

CV

Email: bens@iastate.edu

Office: 476 Design

Phone: 0797



Julie Stevens

Assistant Professor

MLA, Landscape Architecture, University of Oregon, 2008 BS, Horticulture, Iowa State University, 2002

 

CV

Email: jstevens@iastate.edu

Office: 481 Design

Phone: 6927



Mimi Wagner

Associate Professor

BLA, Iowa State University, 1983 Graduate studies in landscape architecture and restoration sciences, University of California, Berkeley, 1996 MLA, Iowa State University, 1998

 

CV

Email: mimiw@iastate.edu

Office: 591 Design

Phone: 8954



Caroline Westort

Assistant Professor

PhD Computational Geography, University of Zürich, Switzerland, 1998

MLA Landscape Architecture  Harvard University, 1993

AB Chemistry, English  Bowdoin College, 1986

 

Email: cwestort@iastate.edu

Office: 480 Design

Phone: 7011



Bambi Yost

Associate Professor

PhD Candidate, Design & Planning, University of Colorado, (ABD, 2010 in progress)

Dissertation Topic “Longitudinal Mixed-Methods Study Spanning 10+ Years to Evaluate Denver Public Schools’ Learning Landscape Schoolyards Based on Initial Expected Outcomes”

New Committee Members: Professor Lois A. Brink (MLA in Landscape Architecture & Executive Director of Learning Landscapes), Associate Professor Claudio Nigg (PhD in Experimental Psychology; MS in Kinesiology), Assistant Professor Peter Anthamatten (PhD in Geography; MPH in Environmental Health), others TBD

Golden Key Society, Honors Student

 

Master of Landscape Architecture, University of Colorado, 2005

Master of Urban & Regional Planning, University of Colorado, 2005

Thesis Topic: “Perceptions of Risk in Denver Public School Playgrounds: Multi-Methods Research Strategy & Design”

Advisor:  Dr. Joseph Juhasz

Committee Members:  Dr. Raymond Studer, Associate Professor & Landscape Architecture Department Chair Ann Komara, Associate Professor

Graduated with Honors and Award Recognition

 

​BS, General Arts and Sciences, Pennsylvania State University, 1993 (Areas of Study: Landscape Architecture and Engineering Science - arts/architecture & math/computer science emphasis)

University Scholar, Golden Key Society, graduated with Honors

 

Email: byost@iastate.edu

Office: 479 Design

Phone: 5318