Architecture

Architecture Faculty and Staff


Chair

Deborah Hauptmann

Chair

 

Email: deborah@iastate.edu

Office: 146 Design



Administrative Staff

Jean Holt

Administrative Specialist

 

Email: jholt@iastate.edu

Office: 146 Design



Faculty

Ross Exo Adams

Assistant Professor

Ph.D, The London Consortium, 2014

M.Arch., The Berlage Institute, 2006

B.Sc., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, 2000

 

CV

Email: readams@iastate.edu

Office: 590 Design

Phone: 8336



Eric Badding

Lecturer

 

Email: ebadding@iastate.edu

Office: 589 Design

Phone: 8460



Karen Bermann

Associate Professor

BArch, The Cooper Union, 1983 MFA, San Francisco Art Institute, 1991

 

Email: kbermann@iastate.edu



Jelena Bogdanovic

Associate Professor

Ph.D. Art and Archaeology [Architectural History], Princeton University

M.A. Art and Archaeology [Architectural History], Princeton University

M.A. Art History, Vanderbilt University

Dipl.Eng. Architecture, University of Belgrade, Serbia

 

 

CV

Email: jelenab@iastate.edu

Office: 597 Design

Phone: 8739



Cameron Campbell

Associate Professor

MArch, Iowa State University, 2003

BArch, Iowa State University, 1997

 

CV

Email: cameronc@iastate.edu

Office: 134 Design

Phone: 7428



Clare Cardinal-Pett

Associate Professor

BA, Hollins College, 1975 MArch, University of Utah, 1984

 

CV

Email: ccardp@iastate.edu

Office: 590 Design



Chiu-Shui Chan

Professor

BS, Department of Architecture and Urban Planning, Chinese Culture University, Taipei, Taiwan, Republic of China, 1974 French Linguistic Diploma, COFI De Levis, Montreal, Canada, 1978 MArch, Department of Architecture, University of Minnesota, 1982 PhD, Department of Architecture, Carnegie Mellon University, 1990

 

CV

Email: cschan@iastate.edu

Office: 482 Design

Phone: 8326



Roman Chikerinets

Lecturer

M.Arch., PRATT Institute, Graduate School of Architecture and Urban Design

 

Email: romanc@iastate.edu

Office: 066 Design



Reinaldo Correa

Lecturer

MID, Iowa State University, Current. BArch, Iowa State University, 2008

 

 

Email: rcorrea@iastate.edu

Office: 066 Design



Shelby Doyle

Assistant Professor

M.Arch., Harvard University Graduate School of Design

B.Sc. Architecture, University of Virginia

 

CV

Email: doyle@iastate.edu

Office: 486 Design

Phone: 8711



Firat Erdim

Assistant Professor

M. Arch. University of Virginia

B. Arch. The Cooper Union

 

CV

Email: firat@iastate.edu

Office: 0584 Design

Phone: 8256



Leslie Forehand

Lecturer

2012 PRATT Institute - Masters of Architecture

2005 University of Virginia - Bachelors of Science in Architectural Design; Second Major in Studio Art

 

CV

Email: forehand@iastate.edu

Office: 588 Design

Phone: 8786



Marwan Ghandour

Professor

Master of Science in Architecture and Building Design, Columbia University, 1988 Bachelor of Architecture, American University of Beirut, 1986

 

CV

Email: marwang@iastate.edu

Office: 591 Design

Phone: 3543



Andrew Gleeson

Lecturer

M. Arch II. Harvard Graduate School of Design. 2013

B. Arch. Iowa State University. 2006

 

 

CV

Email: agleeson@iastate.edu

Office: 589 Design



Pete Goche

Assistant Professor

2005 Iowa State University Master of Architecture

1991 Iowa State University Bachelor of Architecture

1989 Bath University in Bath, England Study Abroad Program 

 

CV

Email: goche@iastate.edu

Office: 090 Design



Bosuk Hur

Lecturer

MArch, Harvard University Graduate School of Design, 2012

MArch, Iowa State University, 2006

BArch, Iowa State University, 2005

 

 

CV

Email: bhur@iastate.edu

Office: 483 Design



Ayodele Iyanalu

Lecturer

M Arch, Iowa State University. M Des Sus Env, Iowa State University. M Tech Arch, Federal University of Technology, Akure. B Tech Arch, Federal University of Technology, Minna.  

 

Email: aiyanalu@iastate.edu

Office: 066 Design



Jungwoo Ji

Lecturer

Master of Architecture, Cornell University, 2003

M.E. (Architecture) Korea University, 1997

B.E. (Architecture) Korea University, 1995

 

 

CV

Email: techarch@iastate.edu



Kevin Lair

Lecturer

BFA, Painting and Drawing, Drake University, Des Moines, IA, 1991

BA, Psychology, Drake University, Des Moines, IA, 1991

Masters in Architecture, (Harvard University, Cambridge, MA, 1995

 

CV

Email: klair@iastate.edu

Office: 484 Design



Sungduck Lee

Lecturer

PhD, Environmental Design and Planning, Arizona State University, 2013

MArch (Urban Design), University of Texas at Austin, 2007

BEng (Architecture), Chung Ang University (Korea), 2004

 

CV

Email: sungduck@iastate.edu

Office: 162 Design

Phone: 5758



Thomas Leslie

Morrill Pickard Chilton Professor

BSAS, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, 1989 MArch, Columbia University, 1992

 

CV

Email: tleslie@iastate.edu

Office: 589 Design

Phone: 8460



Calvin Lewis

Professor

BArch, Iowa State University, 1970

 

CV

Email: calewis@iastate.edu

Office: 599 Design

Phone: 515-450-3200



Patience Lueth

Senior Lecturer

BArch, Iowa State University, Ames, IA, 2001

MSAS, Iowa State University, Ames, IA, 2003

PhD, Educational Leasership and Policy Studies,  Higher Education Emphasis, 2008

 

CV

Email: popiyo@iastate.edu

Office: 162 Design

Phone: 2189



Michael Muecke

Associate Professor

Bachelor of Design with a Major in Architecture, University of Florida, 1989

MArch, University of Florida, 1991

MArch, Princeton University, 1995

PhD, Princeton University, 1999

 

CV

Email: mikesch@iastate.edu

Office: 588 Design

Phone: 8786



Daniel Naegele

Associate Professor

University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia    Ph.D. (architecture), 1996 & M.S. (architecture), 1993 Yale University, New Haven CT    M.E.D. (architecture), 1990 Architectural Association, London    Graduate Diploma, 1988 University of Cincinnati, Cincinnati Ohio    B.Arch., 1977

 

 

CV

Email: naegele@iastate.edu

Office: 483 Design

Phone: 7122



Arvid Osterberg

University Professor

Doctor of Architecture (and Certificate in Gerontology), University of Michigan, Ann Arbor (1980)

Master of Architecture, University of Illinois, Champaign-Urbana (1972)

Bachelor of Architecture, University of Illinois, Champaign-Urbana (1969)

 

 

CV

Email: arvido@iastate.edu

Office: 493 Design

Phone: 8221



Kevin Owens

Lecturer

 

University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, PA.

Master of Architecture, 5/91. 

Paul Cret Medal (thesis prize) in Architecture, 1991.

 

Stanford University, Palo Alto, CA. 

B.A., Design Synthesis (Product Design), with Distinction, 6/87. 

Phi Beta Kappa. 

Honors Program in Values, Technology, Science, and Society:  "Transition from Industry to Recreation on the San Francisco Waterfront, 1800 to 1984".

 

Oxford University, Magdalen College, Oxford, UK.  

Spring Term 1985, focus on medieval vernacular architecture in Britain.

 

 

CV

Email: kowens@iastate.edu



Ulrike Passe

Associate Professor

Dipl.-Ing. in Architecture at the Technical University Berlin, 1990

Registered Architect in Germany since 1993

Member of the BDA Berlin since 2005

International Associate The American Institute of Architects (AIA)

Associate Member to ASHRAE

President-Elect Society for Building Science Educators

 

CV

Email: upasse@iastate.edu

Office: 491 Design

Phone: 7142



Lynn Paxson

University Professor

BEnvironmental Design, University of Colorado, with special honors, 1978 BA, University of Colorado, with distinction, 1978 MA, Hunter College, 1981 MPhil, City University of New York, 1982 PhD, City University of New York, 2007

 

Email: lpaxson@iastate.edu

Office: 490 Design

Phone: 4026



Luis Rico-Gutierrez

Professor

Bachelor's in architecture, 1986, Instituto Tecnologico y de Estudios Superiores de Monterrey, Queretaro, MexicoGraduate degree, 1988, Fundacion Rafael Leoz, Madrid, SpainMaster's  in building performance, 1997, Carnegie Mellon University, Pittsburgh, PA

 

Email: lrico@iastate.edu

Office: 134 Design

Phone: 7427



Ivonne Santoyo-Orozco

Assistant Professor

 

CV

Email: isantoyo@iastate.edu

Office: 595 Design

Phone: 8336



Pia Schneider

Faculty

MArch SCI-Arc, Southern Californian Institute of Architecture

MArch ETH, Swiss Federal Institute of Architecture, Zurich

Exchange Fellowship GSD, Harvard University

 

Email: pschneid@iastate.edu



Nicholas Senske

Assistant Professor

Ph.D (candidate), University of Michigan, 2010

SMArchS, MIT, 2005

B.Arch, Iowa State University, 2003

 

CV

Email: nsenske@iastate.edu

Office: 486 Design

Phone: 8711



Paul Shao

Professor

BBA, Ohio University, 1964 BFA, China Art College, 1965 MA, University of Kansas, 1967 MFA, University of Massachusetts, 1970 EDD, University of Massachusetts, 1979

 

CV

Email: pshao@iastate.edu

Office: 495 Design

Phone: 8244



Mitchell Squire

Professor

 

Email: msquire@iastate.edu

Office: 497 Design

Phone: 0390



Andrea Wheeler

Assistant Professor

The Department of Architecture welcomed Dr. Andrea Wheeler as a new Assistant Professor in Fall 2013, where is a studio instructor, gives the Fall seminar ARCH 558 Green and Sustainable Architecture and contributes to the teaching of the Masters in Design of Sustainable Environments with the Fall colloquium class. She graduated in Architecture from Oxford Brookes University, gained an MPhil from the School of Mechanical Engineering Oxford Brookes University and was awarded a PhD from the University of Nottingham School of Architecture in 2005. Her thesis examined the question of dwelling through the philosophy of Luce Irigaray. Dr. Wheeler comes to Iowa State after spending the last six years working on architecture related research projects at the Loughborough University and The University of Nottingham in the United Kingdom, and within commerical practice. In 2007 she was awarded a prestigious three year ESRC/EPSRC fellowship award to examine sustainable schools and subsequently worked as a research fellow for a central UK government research unit Defra's Sustainable Behaviors Unit in Westminister, London.

 

 

 

 

 

CV

Email: andrea1@iastate.edu

Office: 389 Design

Phone: 3796



Rob Whitehead

Assistant Professor

BArch, Iowa State University, 1993 MArch, University of Texas at Austin, 1995

 

CV

Email: rwhitehd@iastate.edu

Office: 499 Design

Phone: 8276



Sharon Wohl

Assistant Professor

Ph.D Candidate, Spatial Planning and Strategy, TU Delft (Current)

Master’s of Architecture, 1995 University of Manitoba

Bachelor’s of Environmental Design, 1988 University of Manitoba

Department of Landscape Architecture, University of Manitoba

- semester in sustainable urbanism (1994)

Ecole D’Architecture et D’Urbanism, Paris, Belleville

- semester with Henri Ciriani (1991)

 

CV

Email: swohl@iastate.edu

Office: 485 Design

Phone: 8913



Kimberly Elman Zarecor

Associate Professor

Ph.D., Architecture, Columbia University, 2008  

M.Arch., Columbia University, 1999

B.A., Art History, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, 1996

 

CV

Email: zarecor@iastate.edu

Office: 587 Design

Phone: 5026